Categories
Discover

Marjoun and the Flying Headscarf

The Northwest Film Center and the Portland Art Museum present Marjoun and the Flying Headscarf. Screens [online] Wednesday, July 15, 2020 at 5 pm (Pacific Time).

In honor of the virtual international premiere of MARJOUN AND THE FLYING HEADSCARF, The Portland Art Museum and the Northwest Film Center are pleased to present a special screening of a film that is about the shared experiences of Black, Muslim, and Arab people in the United States and is an expansion of a Sundance short. The screening of the film is followed by a conversation with Amy Dotson, the Director of the Northwest Film Center, and the cast of the film.

A teenager in Arkansas searches for identity in the headscarf and a motorcycle in the aftermath of her father’s imprisonment on dubious terrorist-related charges.

Set in 2006, in the aftermath of 9/11, the film explores the results of Arab and Muslim Americans being increasingly detained for “guilt by association.” Weaving together African American and Arab American civil rights legacies, the film is set in Central High School of the Little Rock Nine: the group of nine African American students who in 1957 were initially prevented from entering the racially segregated school. Finally, this film is set also at Magnolia Grove Monastery in Mississippi. This Zen Buddhist monastery has been established in the tradition of the friendship of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh.

At a time when the bulk of cinemas are expected to remain shuttered due to the coronavirus pandemic, our plan is to continue bringing new films at an affordable price point to the PAM and NWFC audiences that allow us to follow social distancing rules.

Pre-order Livestream: Film Followed by After Party with Cast Moderated by Amy Dotson (Available Worldwide starting July 15 at 5:00 pm PDT/8:00 PM EDT/ July 16 02:00 CET/ July 16 8:00 AM HKT) for $12.

The film is not captioned.

After the screening becomes available July 15th at 5:00 pm, you’ll receive an email reminder and have 7 days to begin watching. Once you click “Watch now”, you’ll have unlimited access for 24 hours.

Marjoun and the Flying Headscarf
Directed by Susan Youssef
U.S.A., The Netherlands, Qatar, U.A.E., Canada, Lebanon | 2019 | 84 min | Drama

Livestream: Film Followed by After Party with Cast Moderated by Amy Dotson (Available Worldwide starting July 15 8:00 PM EDT/ July 16 02:00 CET/ July 16 8:00 AM HKT)

Frequently Asked Questions / Eventive Help Page / Live Chat Support

Please browse our frequently asked questions page – click HERE.

The viewing page has a “Need Help” button that will answer any viewing questions.